Foyle, Carlingford and Irish Lights Commission

The Foyle, Carlingford and Irish Lights Commission (FCILC) is supported in its operation by the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (DAERA) together with its counterparts in the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications (DECC) in the Republic of Ireland.

The creation of the FCILC

The FCILC is legislated for by the North/South Co-operation (Implementation Bodies) (NI) Order 1999 and the British-Irish Agreement Act 1999. 

The FCILC was established on 2nd December 1999 by the agreement between the Government of the United Kingdom and the Government of Ireland establishing North/South Implementation Bodies. 

Functions of the FCILC

The functions of the FCILC in relation to the Foyle and Carlingford areas are exercised by the Loughs Agency of the FCILC, and are as follows:

  • the promotion of development of Lough Foyle and Carlingford Lough for commercial and recreational purposes;
  • the conservation, protection, management and development of inland fisheries in the Foyle and Carlingford areas;
  • following the enactment of the relevant Northern Ireland and Irish legislation, the development and licensing of aquaculture in the Foyle and Carlingford Areas; and
  • the development of marine tourism in Lough Foyle and Carlingford Lough.

Composition and reporting

The FCILC has a Board of 12 members who, in exercising the functions of the Body, are required to act in accordance with any directions given by the North South Ministerial Council (NSMC), to which it also reports.


Back to top