DAERA's Departmental Board

Departmental Board members

The Departmental Board (DB) consists of the following members:


Mr Denis McMahon, Permanent Secretary and Departmental Accounting Officer.

Executive Members

  • Mr David Small, Deputy Secretary (Environment, Marine and Fisheries Group);
  • Mr Robert Huey, Deputy Secretary (Veterinary Service and Animal Health Group;
  • Mr Norman Fulton, Deputy Secretary (Food and Farming Group)
  • Mr Colin Lewis, Deputy Secretary (Central Services and Rural Affairs Group)
  • Mr Brian Doherty, Director of Corporate Services
  • Mr David Reid, Assistant Secretary (Finance Director)
  • Ms Janine Fullerton, Senior HR Business Partner (NICS HR)

Non-Executive Board Member

  • Mrs Sharon McCue

More useful links

Departmental Board - minutes of meetings

Departmental Board Committees

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ARAC)

The Principal Accounting Officer has established the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ARAC) as a Committee of the Departmental Board (DB) to support the officer in their responsibilities for issues of risk control and governance by reviewing the comprehensiveness of assurances in meeting the Board and Principal Accounting Officer’s assurance needs and reviewing the reliability and integrity of these assurances.

The ARAC will meet at least six times a year. The timing of these meetings will be dependent on the availability of scheduled papers for consideration. The Chair of the Committee may convene additional meetings as deemed necessary.

As well as providing assurance to the Principal Accounting Officer, the ARAC will ensure that high level information on risk and control is brought to the Principal Accounting Officer’s attention, through DB, in order to assist them in identifying their priorities for action.

The main objective of the Committee is to contribute independently to the Board’s overall process for ensuring that governance, risk management and internal control processes operate effectively. The Committee will do this by forming a consolidated view of all assurance activity within the Department.

The ARAC is advisory in nature and its primary role is to oversee, promote and provide input to all activities associated with business risk, corporate governance and audit.

Change management Board

This Departmental Board Committee will direct and lead a strategic change agenda to build, by 2020, a modern, leaner and more efficient organisation that reflects the needs of customers. The benefits will be a modern department delivering key sustainable outcomes and better public value at lower-cost, offering improved services to agricultural, agri-food, fisheries, industrial and environmental sectors, rural communities and the wider public

Finance Sub-Committee

The Finance Sub Committee is a sub-committee of the Departmental Board and will be responsible for considering a wide range of strategic financial issues.

These will include but are not restricted to marshalling detailed proposals in respect of Spending Reviews and monitoring rounds; the monitoring of savings plans; monitoring value for money through the development of improved financial and performance reporting; monitoring the use of resources (including European Funds) to ensure that funds are allocated to those programmes as intended that deliver best value for money, taking account of ministerial priorities; the Department’s Estate Strategy; and consideration of business cases before submission to DOF on behalf of the Board.

More useful links

Back to top