DAERA welcomes appointment of chair and five members to the Board of the Livestock and Meat Commission Northern Ireland

Date published: 24 October 2023

The Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs has welcomed the announcement of the appointment of Joseph Stewart as the new Chairperson of the Livestock and Meat Commission Northern Ireland (LMC).


The announcement was made today by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, the Rt Hon. Chris Heaton-Harris MP.

The Secretary of State also announced the appointment of five new board members, John Hood, David Mark, Sean McKeever, David Torrens and Elaine Willis.

The appointments will be for a period of three years from the date of appointment, with the possibility of future reappointment to a second term.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The appointment was announced by the NIO today. Download a copy of the announcement.
  2. In the absence of Ministers in the Northern Ireland Executive, these appointments were made under the Northern Ireland (Executive Formation etc) Act 2022.
  3. Follow DAERA on Twitter and Facebook.
  4. All media queries should be directed to the DAERA Press Office at: pressoffice.group@daera-ni.gov.uk
  5. The Executive Information Service operates an out of hours service for media enquiries only between 1800hrs and 0800hrs Monday to Friday and at weekends and public holidays. The duty press officer can be contacted on 028 9037 8110.

Share this page

Back to top