North Western River Basin District

The north western river basin district (NW RBD) covers an area of around 4900km2. It takes in large parts of Counties Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone.

The principle river systems are the Foyle (whose tributaries are the Mourne, Derg, Strule and Finn Rivers) and the River Erne which drains the uplands of Cavan, Fermanagh and Monaghan.  Lough Foyle is the main coastal water and Upper and Lower Lough Erne, Lough Melvin and Lough MacNean the main lakes.

The interactive web map allows the quality of the water bodies to be viewed.

This area has a dedicated Catchment Management Officer who covers the catchments within the NW RBD – Roe, Faughan, Burn Dennet, Owenkillew, Derg, Mourne, Strule, Lower and Upper Lough Erne and Lough Mevin.

Steven McDowell

Back to top