Cranny Bogs SAC

Protected area type: Special Areas of Conservation
Feature type: 
  • Habitat
  • Tyrone
Council: Fermanagh and Omagh
Guidance and literature: Cranny Bogs SAC

Cranny Bogs is made up of three inter-drumlin, lowland raised bogs - Fallaghearn Bog, Killymoonan Bog and Cavan Bog.  They are typical of western bogs within the drumlin belt of Northern Ireland, being elongated and/or very irregular in shape.  Generally, dome structure is poorly defined.

The two eastern bogs are linked together around a small drumlin, the third lies to the south-west but in close proximity.  The bogs vary considerably in their microtopography, with Fallaghearn in particular displaying relatively well-developed hummock (including Sphagnum imbricatum and S. fuscum) and lawn complexes.  Hummocks on Killymoonan and Cavan Bogs are generally more subdued.  Shallow, temporary pools are scattered over the three bogs. 

Back to top