College of Agriculture, Food and Rural Enterprise (CAFRE)

The Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (DAERA) offers a range of Further and Higher Education courses at the College of Agriculture, Food and Rural Enterprise (CAFRE).

College of Agriculture, Food and Rural Enterprise (CAFRE)

For details of the course listing and prospectus, and for other information about studying at CAFRE, please see the CAFRE website.

CAFRE College Advisory Group

The College Advisory Group provides advice at a strategic and operational level to the College Director and college management team of CAFRE.

The group, which meets four times a year, has a chairperson and 13 members who represent key CAFRE stakeholders.

College Advisory Group
Left to Right: Harold Johnston, Roy Lyttle, Esther Skelly-Smith, William (Bill) Harpur OBE, Malcolm Emery, Seamus McMenamin, Maynard Mawhinney, Elaine Willis, Barclay Bell, Kevin Morgan, Ryan Mortimer, Craig Blaney, Martin McKendry, CAFRE Director.

In carrying out its work, the group takes full account of policies and strategies approved by the Minister and DAERA. The College Advisory Group members are:

  • Maynard Mawhinney – Chairperson (Independent Food Consultant)
  • Craig Blaney – Agri-food Business Development - (Business Owner, Airtight Creative)
  • Barclay Bell – Arable Crops - (Arable Farmer from County Down)
  • Deborah O'Hare – Education - (Principal of The Wallace High School, Lisburn)
  • Bill Harpur – Environment - (Beef Farmer, Causeway Coast)
  • Dr Esther Skelly-Smith – Equine - (Equine Veterinary Surgeon)
  • Elaine Willis – Food Processing - (Retail Operations Director, Linden Foods Ltd)
  • Dr Kevin Morgan– Higher Education - (Researcher and Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Queen's University Belfast)
  • Malcolm Emery – International Relations – (Director, Powerhouse Energy Management)
  • Harold Johnston – Dairy - (Dairy Farmer from County Antrim)
  • Ryan Mortimer – Pigs and Poultry – (RSPCA Assured Field Assessor)
  • Roy Lyttle – Production Horticulture - (Vegetable Grower from County Down)
  • Seamus McMenamin – Red Meat - (Sector Manager for Sheepmeat, Livestock and Organics for Bord Bia)
Length of each term of appointment Chair – 3 years
Members – 3 years
(Option for reappointment to a second 3 year term)
Remuneration Chair – £367 per day
Members – £237 per day
Workload Chair – Approximately 4 days per annum
Members – Approximately 4 days per annum


  Name Date of First Appointment Expiry of Appointment
Chair Mr Maynard Mawhinney 01/07/2021 30/06/2024
Members Mr Malcolm Emery 01/01/2020 31/12/2022
Reappointed for a second term to 31/12/2025
Mr Roy Lyttle 01/01/2020 31/12/2022
Reappointed for a second term to 31/12/2025
Dr Esther Skelly-Smith 01/01/2020 31/12/2022
Reappointed for a second term to 31/12/2025
Mr Harold Johnston 01/07/2021 30/06/2024
Mr Barclay Bell 01/01/2022 31/12/2024
Mrs Deborah O'Hare 01/01/2022 31/12/2024
Mrs Elaine Willis 01/01/2022 31/12/2024
Mr Craig Blayney 01/01/2023 31/12/2025
Mr Bill Harper 01/01/2023 31/12/2025
Mr Seamus McMenamin 01/01/2023 31/12/2025
Dr Kevin Morgan 01/01/2023 31/12/2025
Mr Ryan Mortimer 01/01/2023 31/12/2025
Back to top