Seascape Character Areas

The seascape character areas lie around the coast of Northern Ireland and the Northern Ireland Regional Seascape Character Assessment details where these are and their various attributes.

Seascape Character Areas

Twenty-four different regional seascape character areas have been identified round the coast of Northern Ireland. By reading the documents , you will be able to see how these areas were identified, see where they are, and learn about their key characteristics and the different influences that mould each as a unique part of our coastline.

Northern Ireland Regional Seascape Character Assessment

The 'Northern Ireland Regional Seascape Character Assessment' has been broken down below into 5 parts. The breakdown of the report is as follows:

Report Part 1: Report Introduction, Methodology, Policy Summary and Evolution of the Seascape 

Report Part 2: Overview of Landscape Character and Data Analysis

Report Part 3: Seascape Character Areas for:

  • Foyle Estuary
  • Lough Foyle
  • North Coast Strands & Dunes
  • The Skerries & Dunluce Coast
  • Causeway Coast
  • Ballycastle Coast
  • Rathlin 

Report Part 4: Seascape Character Areas for:

  • Torr Head Coast
  • Northern Glens Coast
  • Southern Glens Coast
  • The Gobbins
  • Larne Lough
  • Belfast Lough
  • Belfast Harbour 

Report Part 5: Seascape Character Areas for:

  • Ards Peninsula
  • Strangford Lough
  • Lecale Coast
  • Dundrum Bay
  • Mourne Coast
  • Carlingford Lough
  • Newry Estuary
  • Atlantic
  • North Channel
  • Irish Sea - South Down
Back to top