The Ramsar convention covers all aspects of wetland conservation and wise use, recognising wetlands as ecosystems that are extremely important for biodiversity conservation in general and for the well-being of human communities.

What are Ramsar Sites?

Ramsar sites are wetlands of international importance designated under the Ramsar Convention.

For further information see the Ramsar Sites article page:

List of Marine Ramsar Sites

There are currently 7 coastal Ramsar sites designated in Northern Ireland:

Useful Links

Further information

For further information on Northern Ireland Marine Ramsar Sites, contact:

Back to top