Waste Management Licensing Exemptions

Under the Waste and Contaminated Land (Northern Ireland) Order 1997 and the Waste Management Licensing Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2003, all activities involving the treatment, keeping or disposal of waste must be authorised by the Northern Ireland Environment Agency (NIEA).

Some activities involving waste materials are exempt from licensing if they meet the requirements detailed in Regulation 17 of the Waste Management Licensing Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2003.

To enable applications for waste management exemptions (new or renewal), to be processed as swiftly as possible, application forms are being made available online.

The application form asks for information that will enable NIEA to decide if your activity can be registered as exempt from waste management licensing. If you fill in the form accurately, NIEA will be able to deal with your application quicker.

To apply for a renewal or a new registration use the link below:

Waste management licensing exemptions

Back to top